Rice Pudding

image

How old were you when you realized that if you pretended to be sick, you didn’t have to go to school? I was seven. There was a math test. Two bullying boys. And I hated my uniform.

I rubbed my face so it got hot and red and splashed it with water so it looked like I had “the sweats”.
Then I made understated yet tragically pathetic groans while clutching my stomach.

The trick was trying to act tough. That way, Mon thought it was HER idea that I should stay home. Sneeeaakkkyyy…  Haha
I faked it all on my own. I hadn’t even seen Ferris Buellers Day Off yet. I didn’t even know what that was.

Fake sick days were always a let down. You’d spend the morning watching cartoons and eating cereal. Which was awesome. But then noon would bring with it all the trashy soap opera and court t.v dramas which weren’t funny yet to a seven year old. ( at seventeen they are HILARIOUS).

So that left snooping around the yard, doing crafts, eating exorbitant amounts of peanut butter. Then everyone would be home and you’d have to be in bed for reals and THEN do all the make up work.

That was the worst lesson at seven. Learning that Math tests still had to be taken whether I had been sick or not. Drat!

Real Life sick days aren’t fun either. You really stay in bed, use too many Kleenex, chaf your nose, try to read but watch trashy soap operas instead, and wander around looking all “hot messy”.

One shining light is this Rice Pudding. I made it  and ate it warm, while I was sick. It was like a snuggie for my heart. As you can imagine.
Cinnamon, raisins, almonds. Ooooo yeah.

image

I blanched the almonds myself. It’s easy, and cheaper to peel yourself than buying them that way. Stick it to the almond man! Also, peeling almond skins might have been the most productive thing I did while I was sick. No biggie.

Feel Better Soon!

Xxoo Megs

Rice Pudding

4. Cups whole milk
1 cup basmati rice
Dash cinnamon
Dash cardamom
1/2 a vanilla bean (you could use a tsp. of extract)
1 cup raisins
1cup blanched almonds
1/4 cup honey or maple syrup
2 cups water
1 tsp lemon zest
1/4 tsp salt.

In a pot, combine water, salt, rice, and lemon zest. Bring to a boil. Turn heat to low. Simmer for 15 minutes. Until all the water is absorbed. Transfer to a bowl. Rinse pot.

Combine milk, vanilla, and honey/syrup. Bring to a low boil. Turn down heat. Be sure to stir continually so milk doesn’t burn. Add rice. Cook and stir for about 20 minutes until rice is tender.

Add raisins. Stir so they plump up. Add spices and almonds.

Transfer pudding to a bowl. Let cool slightly. Eat with a tiny spoon and old movies.

Can be kept.in the fridge and eaten cold or reheated for up to 4 days.

Leave a Reply

