Mary-Tyler Moore Moment

image

Let’s review:

Red-eye into Boston? Check
New apartment? Check
Furniture? Nope
Clothings? Nope
Anything useful at all?  I bought a Brita filter. Does that count?
Public transportation? Nailed it.
Lost? Only twice
Hungry? Starved

Eat a sandwich!

I hope adulthood is always this rewarding.

Listen, I went to Dave’s on Holland St. I popped in on a whim knowing nothing about this place except that it (apparently) boasted homemade pasta, terribly cute young gentlemen manning the bar, and was packed at lunchtime. That is endorsement enough for me.

I bought a bottle of local cider. Wanted to buy a bag of caramel wafer cookies. And tasted some yummy cheeses. Success.
I left with Wunderkind, by Batnam in Cambridge. Holy crispy apple honey blossoms, barman! Paired with a prosciutto fig jam panini, two blistered feet, a bare floor, and a window overlooking the city of my dreams.

image

Sleepyness and general haggardness included.

*le sigh….
I think I’m gonna be happy here.

Love,
Meg

P.s. cooking to.come.soon! When all.my things arrive, it’s game on. Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Mary-Tyler Moore Moment

  1. I had no idea you had a blog. How exciting. Furniture and clothing are overrated. Boston is not! Score one for you.

    Anywho.

    Food involving figs, puff pastries, or citrus all sound good to me. Cook it up!

  2. ¡Hermana!
    WHERE do I start??

    Foods:
    Joy’s puff pastries with brie and jam
    Spicy Thai Peanut Noodles
    Something with an exotic cheese you (always) find
    Healthy Bran Muffins (still waiting for the recipe, btw)
    Tostones (the fried plantain medallions we made)
    Whole wheat pasta with garlic, baked butternut squash, and a sage butter sauce

    Drinks:
    Mint Julep
    Root Beer Float
    Peanut Butter, Banana, and Chocolate Malt Milkshake
    Local Beer (and a write up)

    Desserts:
    Anything with chocolate . . . can you make truffles?
    Poundcake
    Something with buttercream

Leave a Reply

