Crepe-o-matic

I’m an old soul. That’s what my mom tells me.

Fact is, I just like old stuff. Is that what that means? hmmm…

let’s talk television.

I love reruns. I don’t have a T.V. but when i did, oh child, you best believe that i watched me some Nick at Night. The Brady Bunch, the Jetsons, I Dream of Genie, Dick Van Dyke Show, Bewitched, Laverne and Shirley. Gah, so great. so old timey.

Let’s talk (these girls.)

They have a certain something that just makes you wanna feather your hair, get your nails done did, and listen to sage wisdom from a sassy waitress at a coffee shop that sounds… well, like a coffee shop. Filled with the tinkling and clatter of REAL cups, the pouring of black coffee, the smells of hot danish. Oh boy.

p.s. remember twin pops?

Back in the day, there was texture, and (weird) color, and food molds, and hilarious slang. I suppose this is what they call “the proverbial vintage train”. Whatevs. Punch my ticket. I’m going to there….

FIRST STOP–60’s “space age” domestic technologies. For instance, any thing with an “o-matic” or “3000” at the end of its name, sign me up. So. Damn. Delightfully. Tacky.

My mother, bless her, lived through this time for real. It was the seventies. She was in her twenties. There were automatic vacuum sealers, and egg cookers, and Slice’n’Dicer’s all up everywhere. She was 23 living in Boston. (Spooky) She liked to have friends over for crepes.

Totes classy.

so She purchased this.

Behold!!!! The crepe ‘o’ matic. It has a light that tells ya when to dunk, and when its done! (not making that up.)

This is my new favorite family heirloom.

It still works great, and gets SO hot, SO quickly that if you aren’t careful it just might kill you. Serious. I think it could melt all your skin away.

My mother gifted me this precious Crepe o matic and I moved it the 3000 miles back to Boston so it could make crepes here once more.

That’s just what i did. *Pro Tip-when the recipe says to let the batter settle. LET THE BATTER SETTLE! air bubbles in your batter are bad news.  It will leave all the turtlenecked clad gentlemen at your party sad faced. ye be warned…

Crepe-o-matic Crepes:

1c. flour

2 tsp. sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 c. milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1. T melted butter

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl. Add wet ingredients and whisk together until well combined. Let the batter sit in the fridge for 1 HOUR, or up to ONE DAY.

Heat a nonstick skillet ( or your Crepe-o-Matic) and spread a large spoonful of batter in the middle, working quickly so that the batter evenly coats the pan. Work quickly so it doesn’t cook thicker in places. Using a rubber spatula, flip crepe over. Place in a warm oven, about 200 degrees, covered with a damp paper towel.

fill with ricotta cheese, drizzle with maple syrup, top with goat cheese, or strawberry jam, or chocolate, or cheesy chicken sauce, or ham and spinach. Eat them with your hands, standing over the stove, listening to “Love-train”. I guarantee it will be a tremendous moment in your life.

When your evening has the potential to smell like Twister and Old Spice, you know you’re living right.

cheers,

M

xxoo

p.s. More pictures!

harvard.river walksun sets on the Charlesrobin blue espresso cups boo radley? yes.

a butterfly chillin on my laundry. props to Mrs. Meyers. #blossomsoapchampion

Leave a Reply

