Tomato Salad+Heirloom Carrots

I have been living a series of “firsts”. Its rather exciting. This is my first humid summer, my first season of daily markets, my first trip to the Cape. I’m loving it.

This whole “Humid summer” thing is particularly sticking with me. Literally. Cold showers be praised! Oh boy, do I appreciate air-conditioned public transportation. Especially since all i’ve been rocking is a small and slightly unpredictable desk fan from the 1950’s and frozen washcloths. #classic

But the plus side is that I am starting my summer novel rotation. Stories of the south, and iced tea, and fireflies, and creole magic. sigh… love it. One must read seasonally just as one eats seasonally (or so i’m convinced)

It’s too hot to cook anything. In fact, i lament making my coffee in the morning. But a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do #firstworldproblems

I have transitioned into the “summertime luncheons” phase of the year. Days made up of cold salads, iced aperitifs, and fresh mild cheeses. Throw in a couple slices of baguette and you’re set for life. Seriously.

xxoo M

happy summering

 

 

Heirloom Carrot Salad:

1 bunch carrots peeled and cropped

small handful of parsley (or mint or tarragon OR all three)

salt

pepper

sprinkle (approx 2 tsp.) apple cider vinegar

a good glug of Olive Oil

(Combine everything in a bowl and let sit in the fridge or at room temp.)

 

Tomato Salad:

3 small tomatoes

small handful of Basil (chopped)

1 good glub olive oil

 

(Cut tomato in wedges, sprinkle with pepper, basil and olive oil. Serve alongside mozzarella with garlic and bread)

 

One thought on “Tomato Salad+Heirloom Carrots

  1. It’s so interesting and delightful to view Boston humidity through new eyes! I just see it as my hair going through it’s cotton candy phase of the year. Not as exciting.
    You can still have your coffee! Here is my recipe for something I like to call “Iced Coffee”. Just make the coffee the night before, let it cool down and put it in the fridge. In the morning put ice in a glass, pour in the coffee, add milk and sugar if you like. Voila !

Leave a Reply

